Hey bunqers 🌈,
We’d love for you to stay a bunqer but we get that life happens. If closing your bunq account is the right choice for you, you have the option to close it yourself straight from your bunq app.
Closing your account this way is reversible — you can reactivate your account whenever you want. Your money always stays yours and is continuously protected under the Deposit Guarantee Scheme (DGS) while closed this way.
How do I close my bunq account?
You can close your bunq account by yourself straight from your Profile by following the steps below:
Tap on your 👤Profile in the top left corner
Tap on your bunq Plan
Tap on Close Account
Confirm by tapping on Close my account
If you can't find the option to close your account in your bunq Plan, you'll find it in your Personal Information:
Tap your 👤Profile in the top left corner
Tap on your Personal Information
Tap on Close Account
Confirm by tapping on Close my account
When you close your bunq account this way, you can’t receive or send payments and you'll no longer be charged a monthly fee if you’re on a paid plan. You can re-activate it at any later time and continue banking with us.
❗️Closing your Business account doesn't close your Personal account. If you'd like to close both, close each one separately.
What happens when I close my bunq account?
When you close your bunq account via the app:
You can't send or receive payments
You'll no longer be paying monthly fees
You can't sign up for a new bunq account with the same credentials of your closed account
The Deposit Guarantee Scheme protection continues
After closing your account this way, there are several actions you can still perform:
Login and see your account
You can switch Users from your Profile
Export a Bank Statement by following the steps mentioned here
Export an Annual overview
Reactivate your account at any time
Do you want to close one of your bank account instead?
Click here or follow the steps mentioned below:
Go to the 🏠 Home tab
Select your Bank Account
Tap on ⚙️ Settings
Tap on Close Bank Account
Change your mind? Once a bunqer, always a bunqer!
To reopen your bunq account, follow the steps below:
Download and open the bunq app
Use your telephone number to log in
"This account has been closed" screen appears
🟢 Reopen account
Tap on Reactivate account
Done!
Important note: Keep in mind that there’s no need to open a brand new bunq account from scratch - simply log back in to reactivate your old account. Forgotten your security code? See how to restore it here.
FAQ
Can I close my bunq account if I still have money in my bank accounts?
Yes, you can close your account yourself, even if you have a positive balance. Your funds will stay within the app. You can access them any time by re-opening your account.Can I close my bunq account if I’m in debt?
You can't close your account if you have more than €15 debt.Can I close my bunq account if I have an activated Switch Service?
You can't close the account if you have Dutch Switch Service active from another bank to bunq, but you can do so if you have an active Switch Service from bunq to another bank.How can I export a statement from my closed account?
Simply open the bunq app and enter your security code to enter your closed account. Once you login successfully you’ll see a screen confirming that your account is closed. From there, follow these easy steps:
1. Click on 🟠 Export Statement
2. Select Bank Account for export
3. Set the time Period
4. Choose the Format
5. Export the statementHow can I stop receiving emails from bunq?
When you close your account, please keep in mind that bunq reserves the right to send you further marketing communication. If you want to unsubscribe from our email updates, you can simply follow these easy steps:
1. Go to your email
2. Click on the last marketing email you’ve received from us
3. Scroll to the bottom
4. Select Unsubscribe
5. Follow the hyperlink’s flowWhy do I see my closed bunq account in annual tax returns?
If you’ve closed your bunq account but still see your bunq IBAN in your tax returns for the year, don’t worry — this does not mean that your account is active. To make life easy for all of our users, we share your information with the Dutch Tax Authority once a year in a single report, and they may forward them to your local tax authorities. That’s why your IBAN can appear in your tax declaration, even if you closed your bunq account.
What if I want to close my bunq account with no option to re-open it?
Read more here to find out how you can request this type of closure for your bunq account.
